mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Let's Go Metric!\" or \"I Am Not Nearly The Whiner I Thought I Was\"

To: 2004 Danskin Women's Triathlon Series/Seattle Participant (that's me)

From: Danskin Women's Triathlon Series

Re: 2004 Swim Course


Thank you for your part in making the 2004 Danskin Women's Triathlon Series race in Seattle, Washington such a huge success. We thank everyone for coming out and taking part in the largest sprint distance triathlon in the world.

We'd like to address the inquiries we have received concerning the length of this year's Swim. Our Local Race Director and Swim Coordinator have provided us with the following information which, hopefully will clarify the situation.

The Swim course was set using a radar system but unfortunately the measuring scale used was read as yards rather than meters. Therefore, the final Course was roughly 963 to 1,000 meters or .59 - .62 miles (FYI - It was supposed to be .50 miles which is all I had practiced for and I am certain I swam at least .65 miles. No wonder my lungs were rising up out of my throat).

Setting a "true" swim course distance is always much harder than for a bike or run course (especially if you can't be bothered to learn how to use the radar system beforehand). The 2003 Seattle Danskin Swim course actually was a bit short due to buoy-drag (Fat lot of good that does me! I didn't even run in that tri), and 2004 is long due to (improper) measuring methods. It is important to note that while you can't make a true comparison of your 2003 Swim time with your 2004 Swim time, your Swim Rank of 2003 compared to 2004 will give you a clear picture of your relative performance (no it won't 'cause as I stated earlier I didn't do this in 2003).

We appreciate your continued support of the Danskin Women's Triathlon Series in 2005.

Now more than ever, I am pissed the damn US was to stupid to go metric in the 70's.

1:49 p.m. - 2004-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife