mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Oh It's Such A Perfect Day, I'm Glad I Spent It With You\"

Saturday was ideal in a million ways. The sun was shining. Pete brought me a latte while I was still in bed. My stereo, which is on the fritz, decided to play my new Beastie Boys cd. And the whole day stretched ahead of me without so much as a single obligation or chore.

Pete and I took advantage of our freedom and headed off to Alki Beach, the SoCal of Seattle, on our bikes. For those of you who don't live local, Alki is quite a ways from Ballard, where I reside. Well, actually it's not that far at all. It happens to be dead South of my house but sadly, the Puget Sound separates us so one must ride through Ballard, then the Interbay area, Belltown, Downtown, SODO and finally across the West Seattle Bridge before the beach is reached. Luckily, I was in the mood to have a little adventure and Pete had never been to Alki. In fact, I hadn't been there since I first came to Seattle. We decided to pretend we were taking a little vacation, going someplace exotic and new, and in a way, we were.

We illegally rode our bikes across the railroad tracks, keeping an eye out for the train fuzz. We pedaled past an old grain silo that I had never noticed before. We passed the huge cruise ships along the way and sang the theme song to the Love Boat at the top of our lungs. We watched a couple pedal along the shore on the coolest low rider bikes and a gal on a long board skate down the promenade. We stopped at Dukes and had Bloody Mary's and steamer clams. And we whizzed by a beach side BBQ contest where everybody had an Earl! We watched dozens of men fishing for salmon off a pier. If those planks could talk they'd tell the story of hundreds of fish that got away.

When it was time to return home, we took advantage of the water taxi to downtown, making believe that we had chartered a cruise to round off our little vacation in our own hometown. We watched the skyline loom above us, the Space Needle taking center stage. Then we rode along the waterfront, past the future site of the sculpture park. Past people jogging with their dogs or skating in groups of two. Towards the Olympic Mountains which sparkled in the late afternoon sun.

After that, we curled up with glasses of wine and good books and eventually drifted off into a deep sleep that would not be interrupted by alarms or barking dogs and it was all quite, quite lovely.

10:43 a.m. - 2004-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife