mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yuppicide

I did something today that seems so decadent, so self indulgent. Something I feel guilty just thinking about. It's something that makes me feel so....yuppie-ish and thus incredibly filthy and heartless. I signed up for private Pilate instruction.

I know I promised not to discuss my exercise regime anymore. I lied. I'm a lying liar who's pants are on fire. So friggin' what?

A week ago, I started looking into introductory Pilates classes. I decided early on that I wanted to study at a school where the instructors were licensed and not simply aerobic bimbos who taught a class or two at my gym in exchange for a free membership. In all fairness, most of the instructors I have had at my gym aren't bimbos at all but after learning about my weak hip, I've been reluctant to let just anybody shape me into a pretzel. I know that Pilates is something you need to do properly or you can truly put yourself in a world of pain and so I decided to focus on schools that taught Pilates and only Pilates.

Seattle is a big city and even more importantly in terms of this pursuit, it's a crunchy-granola-eating, Birkenstock-and-wool-sock-wearing kind of city. The kind of town where there are multiple Pilates studios and hundreds of classes. But here's the unfortunate thing, Seattle is also the kind of town where every Pilates class seems to happen between the hours of 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM which also happens to be when I work. Fan-freaking-tastic. Who can go to these classes, I ask you? Well, actually I asked the various people answering the phones at the studios. The answer, dancers! Apparently, there is a large dance community that I've never met taking Pilates classes at 2:30 PM on a Tuesday. Lucky them.

It became apparent that the only way I was going to get me some Pilates was to sign up for individual instruction. So I took a deep breath and handed over a bazillion dollars in the name Joseph H. Pilates (father of this technique). Like I mentioned earlier, I feel dirty about this exchange. Spending money on some trendy little plan seems so wrong to me and I'm not certain why that is. I mean this is my body and I am only going to get one body (I think, I don't really know about afterlifes and all that) so why not do what I can to improve it? Plus, my physical therapist did encourage me to give Pilates a try. I mean, this is something I should feel good about not guilty, right?

Please tell me, I'm not turning into to a yuppie. Also, please tell me if the term "yuppie" is outdated? It seems like we should have a new noun for this sector of society but I must have missed the memo.

1:44 p.m. - 2004-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife