mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Danskin Triathlon Part I

Wow! So yes, after eight months of training it was finally the day of the triathlon. Wait, let's go back a few days first. Lets back things up to Thursday, August 12th. So I wake up at roughly 4:00AM with a stuffed up nose and a sore throat which develops into the first cold I have had in over two years. I decide it is completely impossible for me to be sick at this point in time despite the fact that every inch of my body is telling me otherwise. I proceed to have the barbecue I had scheduled weeks ago. While doing all the prep work for that evening, I begin to run a fever. I ignore that as well. About a half hour before company arrives, I begin popping decongestants and antihistamines and anything else that happens to be in the medicine cabinet. When company actually arrives, I am high as a kite. Oh and I don't want to forget to tell you that I also received a summons to serve on jury duty that day. Yes, basically every shitty thing that could have happened, did. I also only have a limited recollection of the dinner I prepared for my guests. I am highly susceptible to any sort of cold tablet and basically become a walking zombie so I apologize to my guests.

My guests left early (probably because I looked like I might pass out) and Pete came into the kitchen, where I was washing dishes. I began sobbing.

"I'm sick," I cried. "I can't be sick. I can't be! The triathlon is on Sunday. Why is this happening to me?" I believe I probably fell to the ground in a heap of tears but the cold tablets make this all a blur. I remember Pete saying something about nursing me back to health in time for Sunday and then being in bed, unable to breath, waking roughly every twenty minutes from horrid dreams of incomplete triathlons. In one of them, I actually ran into a tar pit and sank right before the finish line. I don't think we even have tar pits in Washington State.

Friday I HAD to go to work. You see, it was my coworkers last day before her vacation and we had yet to discuss what I needed to cover in her absence. Sometimes, I really hate working in a small office. I made it through till noon and then took the bus home and hibernated on my couch. More bad dreams, more fever, lots of nose blowing, and a few tears were shed. The mere thought of not being able to participate in this triathlon sent me into an emotional tailspin. I have been training since January for this. I felt as if would die if I couldn't do this.

On Saturday, I woke up still feeling lousy. The fever had passed but I was still congested and my throat was raw. My lungs felt as if they were filled with liquid. Somehow, I managed to get my ass up off the couch and pick up my registration packet for the race. I also dropped off my bike at the transition area. I lucked out there. I was one of the first people to arrive so I got a spot on the end, very close to the bike start. I then went home and doped myself up on Nyquil and Sudafed. Pete brought me soup and sushi and despite being unable to taste a damn thing and having zero appetite, I ate. And then I half slept and half dreamed of failure.

Click here for more.....

12:51 p.m. - 2004-08-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife