mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Epstein-Barr, Tading Spouses, and Growing Up Gotti

I have been in a general state of malaise the past few weeks which I like to ignore by ramping up my social activities to a frenzied level until I finally crash. Last night, I professed to Pete that I am so sleepy all the time and that thought I might have Barr-Epstein disorder.

"You mean Epstein-Barr," he asked me.

"Yes, that's it. Do people even get diagnosed with that anymore?"

"No, now it's know as Chronic Fatigue Syndrome," he said.

"Well since everything 80's is hip again, I'm going with Epstein-Bar and I'll take an order of Toxic Shock Syndrome on the side just to be extra retro."


Speaking of my busy social schedule, has anyone else watched Trading Spouses on Fox? It's pretty bad. Actually, it's awful. Two moms swap homes and families for I-don't-know-how-long to see how the other half lives. In the episode I watched last night, they took some frumpy, suburban housewife (who reminded me of Rosanne) and made her trade spaces with a hoity-toity, silicone blonde. I have to say, the husband of the first family seemed pretty pleased with his new trophy wife while the husband who wound up with Trailer Park Patty wanted to crawl under the table when forced to appear publicly with her. It was painful to watch but I hung tough and made it through.

I also managed to watch the premier episode of Growing Up Gotti. I know I am in the minority when I say this, but I absolutely hate the Sopranos. I can pretty much ascertain that my negative feeling come from actually being raised in an Italian, Catholic neighborhood in Brooklyn and being exposed to more Tony Baloney's than I care to remember. I've met mobsters and wanna-be mobsters (Italian and otherwise) and I can safely say that Sopranos doesn't come close to what these guys are like. It's like being promised a clown will perform at your sixth birthday party but having a mime show up instead. It's a pale imitation, stiff and one-dimensional and yes I know the critics don't agree. So what?

But back to Growing Up Gotti.....I didn't expect to like it. In fact, I expected to hate it but then I watched it. Who can resist the charm and elegance of Victoria Gotti? Her name is synonymous with grace and culture, don't you think? And her three boys, what fine, upstanding young men they are! Especially that Carmine. Is it just me or he does he have a certain Prince William thing going on? I mean, that's it really. These people are like the Royal Family of Long Island. So well bred, such role models.

Okay, I'm totally full of the shit. This show sucks and these people are horrible. Don't watch it.


I can't believe I'm saying this but I wish the triathlon was this weekend. I'm sort of ready to have it over and done with. It feels like those last few weeks of high school when you already have been accepted to the college of your choice and your just sitting around wasting time, waiting to never have to see any of your fellow students again. I guess I'm just ready to move on to the next phase, out of training and on to actual performance.


Lastly, I am working on stirring up some freelance writing work. I have a few projects simmering on the burner but if you know of anyone who needs a writer who specializes in social and community awareness pieces, drop me a line. I am also available for Bar and Bat Mitzvahs.

4:23 p.m. - 2004-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife