mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Viva La Revolution

Thursday night's ladies dinner was a smashing success if I do say so myself. I feel pretty lucky to have so many wonderful women in my life (including a few who have resisted the urge to document every moment of their existence). I am also blessed to have the type of husband who doesn't mind getting sent away from his home from time to time so the girls can come over and chat freely about things like boys and that not-so-fresh-feeling.


We also finally got out to the Sunset Bowl again. It's been months since I'd been there despite the fact that it's six blocks away. We joined Kaymess and AH for three rousing rounds of pin splitting fun. The bowling alley staff are quite a fascinating crew. The women working the front desk seemed on the verge of a postal episode. When AH requested she repeat the shoe sizes she had available (which seem to always be either a half size too big or a half size too small) she sighed loudly and rolled her eyes. It was as if she was unaware that there was both loud music playing and balls hitting pins thus making her completely inaudible.

My first game was quite good (for me) but I followed it up with two pretty crappy ones. I blame this on the fact that the lane next to us, which was originally empty, became filled with sorority girls in hip huggers. In case you were wondering, low rise pants and bowling don't mix. Rather than focus my energy on a high score, I expended it making cheap cracks (hee hee) at Buff and Miffy's expense. Perhaps this is cruel and petty but these women spent half the night giggling into their cell phones and taking pictures of one another posing with bowling balls thus they were asking for it.

After the smoke had cleared and Pete broke a hundred, we headed off to the lounge for some karaoke. AH is a karaoke enthusiast or at least he was that night. He performed solo and then coaxed Pete into a duet of Ebony and Ivory. He also became convinced that Kaymess and I should sing. Now, I was a complete karaoke virgin. I was saving myself for a trip to Japan. I wanted it to totally to be like that scene in Lost in Translation. But alas, you can only hold out for so long before someone as charming as Kaymess comes along and sweeps you off your feet. After great debate over the song list (during which Kaymess kept pointing out songs that were "too easy" despite my mentioning that I was not particularly looking for a challenge), we sang what I imagine to be a very rousing rendition of "Cecilia." I am basing this on the drunk frat boys hooting but then again one of them sang "Thank God I'm a Country Boy" so you might not want to trust in their taste.

After that it was a little round of Dance, Dance Revolution. AH was ready to take on the world and challenged the most rhythmic looking man in the room. I would say he was about 22, wearing a shirt with the first three buttons undone, bling-bling a flashing around his neck. But for reasons unexplained, the young man stood AH up. Left with no choice but to dance solo, AH went for it. I later stopped a homeless man who was wandering though the alley looking somewhat strung out and definitely a bit intoxicated and offered to pay his way if he'd challenge AH. Sadly, the homeless guy was on his way to a shelter or something and could not participate in a dance off. I did give him the change I was going to feed into the machine so I am not nearly as awful of a person as you think I am. Alright, maybe I am. So what?

I am super happy that Kaymess and AH live so close and we can make this a regular thing though. I see a league in my future with really cool bowling shirts.


Recently, I've been a little obsessed with evite, the online invite service. I send evites for every occasion. Having a dinner party? Send an evite. Going out for drinks with the girls? Send an evite. Watching a movie with Pete? Send him an evite. I'm sure I'll get over this soon but for now I'm really into it. Anyway, when you sign up with the service, they also keep you apprised of local events in the area and last week I got an unsolicited email for a Lock and Key Encounter. Having no idea what this was, I decided to investigate.

"Welcome to the newest Twist to Urban Mixing, Mingling and Networking...
It's called The Original Lock and Key� Encounter!

It works like this...every female attendee receives a Lock. Every male attendee receives a Key. The object is to find the Lock that fits the Key and the Key that fits the Lock!

To do so, you try and meet each and every person at the Encounter, getting to know them and of course, trying to match the Lock and Key.

The object is to find as many �Matches� as possible. Each time a �Match� is made, both are entered into the prize drawing and then sent out with a new set of Hardware - to try it all over again!"

Okay, I know I've been married for a bit but is this really what the single world has come to? Are things really this overt? What happened to subtlety? So the guy walks around shoving his key into the women's locks until he finds a "match?" I love the way they put that in quotes. I also adore the fact that they use the word "encounter" to describe this ritual. Oh and random capitalization rocks. And isn't it wonderful that the locks hang right above the ladies breasts? It really makes the whole goggling process a whole lot easier. If only they could find a way to hang the keys right on the guys johnsons.

Yeah, not planning on being there.


This week, a two day seminar on grant writing, swimming in Lake Washington with Peachy as part of my triathlon training, book group with the ladies, and hopefully a nice backpacking trip in the sunshine for the weekend. But we'll talk before then.

9:17 p.m. - 2004-07-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife