mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stop By For A Beer If You're In the 'Hood

You know you're getting older when you have as much beer left over after a barbecue as we do at the Roboto household. Pete felt we needed at least six cases to serve roughly 30 guests. He called our local brewery several days in advance to assure that they would brew the beer up fresh and then he headed over on Saturday morning to bring the goods home. From there the hooch was transferred to a large garbage can where it was surrounded by ice and labeled with a sign that read "BEER." I also labeled another can as "GARBAGE" and a third bin as "EMPTIES" because clarity is important if you plan to have large numbers of people drinking at your house. I certainly didn't want anyone searching among the dog poop and old rotten eggs for a cold one.

I mostly feel the event went off without a hitch. As per most parties I host, I wish I'd been able to spend more time with everyone. I didn't get to do as much socializing as I'd like and I had that brief post-party panic about whether everyone had had enough to eat or felt as welcome as I wanted them to. I understand that the food was really good which is important. We had ribs and brisket and salmon and chicken. I have to tell you I made a mean glaze for the ribs and my famous potato salad was completely consumed. There were a million other tasty salads and desserts as supplied by the guests. There were fantastic baked beans and a carrot cake to die for and grilled strawberry shortcake and ice cream. Age may result in a decrease in consumption of booze but it also increases the quality of the fare.

One of the most magnificent things about Saturday was the weather. Luckily, RDG had paid homage to the Weather Gods on Friday and somehow this had appeased them. Threats of rain gave way to a brilliant blue skies and a bright sun. As much as I'd like to believe the Gods did this for me and me alone, it's much more likely that they heard about Kaymess' wedding and decided to be merciful.

In closing, I do believe the Lawn Gods are against me. Pete and I planted grass in our yard a few weeks ago and while not a single blade was evident on Saturday when people were all about, a sea of green had emerged on Sunday from the soil. I am off to go sacrifice a goat now in the hopes of winning back their good graces.

12:01 p.m. - 2004-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife