mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring Break '04! Woo hoo! Party!

This last week we were visited by my baby sister Robyn. Well, she's not exactly a baby but she was born nearly twelve years after I was and so will always be the baby of our family. This was her first solo trip across the country and her first official Spring Break from college. Of course, Spring Break spent with your thirty year old sister in Seattle is a lot different from Spring Break spent in Cancun with the 19 to 23 year old set. Or maybe it's not so different.

For example, although there was no beer funneling on this Spring Break we did partake in some beer drinking at a certain pub where I introduced Robyn to the wonder that is Yaletown IPA . She seemed wholly unimpressed as the waiter explained the complexities of the brew and it took me a minute to remember that when you are a college student the quality of the beer is secondary to the quantity of the beer.

Oh and the "fun in the sun" time! We did go to the beach this Spring Break and my dog had a great time. As a matter of fact, he was the only one who had a great time since it was drizzling and cold. It didn't seem to bother him a bit, he just swam and swam.

Every good Spring Break involves a confrontation with authority figures be it a police officer arresting you for public intoxication or a hotel manager threatening you for being too loud or peeing in the pool. I didn't want Robyn to miss out on that vital experience so I snuck her across the border to Vancouver where we purchased lots of unpasteurized French cheese which we later hid in the car and snuck past customs. Talk about wild and crazy.

And then there's the Spring Break hook up. Well, we pretty much struck out on that front. Actually I kissed and hugged my husband throughout the visit so that kind of counts, right? And Robyn slept with my dog. He really seemed to develop feelings for her and looks in the guest room for her every morning. He comes out looking sad and dejected upon discovering she's no longer with us.

We skipped having a wet T-shirt contest since the votes would have tied (like I'm not going to vote for myself and she's not going to do the same thing). We did however go to the spa for body wraps and facials and watched lots of MTV's Spring Break so I didn't feel too out of the game. We also ate plenty of sushi. So it may not be South Beach or Daytona or Acapulco but I highly recommend the great Northwest for your next Spring Break. Just ask my sister.

1:27 p.m. - 2004-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife