mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Costa Rica - Days 1 through 3

As you might have guessed, I've been fighting a losing battle against time. Between social engagements, work, home repairs, and the release of the third season of OZ on DVD, I've barely had a moment to myself. It even feels as if the moment for discussing my travels has passed but I'm going to try to recapture a few thoughts and scribble them down here. When things seem fuzzy or less defined I'll just add in a picture or two so bear with me.

After a horribly long flight that included a stop over and a two hour delay in Dallas (man oh man I hate that airport) we finally arrived in San Jose, Costa Rica at just about midnight. Arriving in a strange city in the dark is always a sketchy situation but that was only made worse by the fact that I was forced to deal with the creepiest rental car guy I had ever met within moments of our touch down. You see, I had used the power of the Internet to rent a "muy economical" 4 x 4. I had compared prices and types of vehicles and finally selected the dirt cheapest car I could find. At age 30, I still have yet to learn that you actually get what you pay for.

The rental agent was a young guy who spoke selective English and also choose to pretend to not understand my Spanish. He showed us to a beast of an automobile with a name I'd never heard of and then said I had to pay him cash as opposed to a credit card. He said my card had been declined. These few English phrases he spoke with great fluency. I explained in my best Spanish that I would sooner walk through all of Costa Rica then give this guy cash for a car and that there was no way on earth my credit card had been declined. After a great deal of anxiety, an hour of debate, and a $25.00 fee so that I could use this guy's phone to call Visa, the matter was squared and Pete and I were at last on our way to the hotel. It was at this point that the clutch died, leaving us to stall repeatedly in a strange and not particularly friendly city in the third world in the middle of the night. By some miracle, Pete managed to coast to our hotel but it took roughly two hours, involved a whole lot of cursing, and made me fear for the fate of this trip.


This is what happens when you rent the "muy economical" 4 x 4

I woke up the following morning determined to resolve this problem and be on our way. I had called the jackass who rented us the lemon and told him to get his butt to the hotel pronto (I can swear like a sailor in any language which is more useful than one might think) to pick his crap box up. I threatened him within an inch of his life should he even attempt to charge my credit card. I obtained another vehicle from a better known rental company (but it was not quite so economical) and by 11:00 AM we were on our way out of San Jose heading towards Manuel Antonio Park. I assure you things get 100% better from here.

Manuel Antonio is know for it vast array of wildlife, especially it's birds. Now I am by no stretch of the imagination an ornithologist but who can resist calling out "Look, it's a Magnificent Frigate Bird!" or "Check out those Resplendent Quetzals!" Don't even get me started on the varying colored Boobies! And it was during our first hike at this park that we saw this Capuchin monkey swinging from the trees along the beach. These guys are hilarious and adorable as all get out but I had been warned not look them directly in the eyes as they might throw their poop at you should they feel threatened. It was sort of like working for Sylvester Stallone. Still, we were able to get within inches of these guys which was pretty exciting.


Ain't he just the best?

That evening we stayed at a lodge that also serves as rehabilitation center for injured sloths and monkeys. It was a unique place with a warm friendly environment and damn good Pina Coladas. Also we had a great surprise that evening. While dining on an outdoor deck, we were visited by a three toed sloth and clinging to her belly was her baby. It was so unbelievably cute. I could have killed myself for not having my camera. What's not so cute is that most sloths are host to over 3000 parasites so I guess it was good that she didn't get within six feet of me. She did stick around a good long time though. Sloths are so darn slow moving it seems as if they are all a hundred years old. Sometimes they are so relaxed that they grow mold - no joke.

The one thing I have yet to mention is how pristine the beaches were at Manuel Antonio and how warm the ocean felt. It was like stepping into a bath which would be wonderful should I not have been expecting to be refreshed after a long hike. It's true, after a big trek I was sort of hoping to dive into slightly brisk waters but I don't think I really have a legitimate complaint here, do you?


"During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you." Hee hee.

To Be Continued

3:56 p.m. - 2004-03-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife