mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Fourth Decade To Me!

By the time the alarm rings to get me up for my next work day, I will be thirty. I will be entering my fourth decade on earth. Thank you to those of you who pointed out what an idiot I am. Numbers have never been my strong point.

I think I am okay with this. Yes, I think this will be fine.

To tell the truth, I feel sort of like it isn't even happening. Time keeps moving way faster than I can seem to keep track of and since my original plan was to celebrate my thirtieth birthday in Costa Rica, I think I'll hold off. You see, we don't leave till the 9th of February. My birthday coincides with the busiest time of the year at my job and so the trip had to be scheduled in such a way as to not interfere with the greater needs of the organization. That sounds more horrible than I meant it to. I actually didn't mind putting off the trip one bit. The organization has been good to me. I am good back.

I've gotten a few gifts already. My parents sent me a super high end coffee machine with a built in grinder and timer as I'd requested. It's a lovely stainless steel model and I find myself beaming at it's sparkly goodness. There is one problem though. It has lots and lots of buttons and a big old instruction book. It's kind of daunting. The old machine (a cheap ass Mr. Coffee) has a single button - "ON." I'd get up, fill the filter with grinds, put in water and press the button. Wal lah - coffee in seven minutes! Now, I'll need to learn this new technology, figure out this machines little intricacies and some part of me just doesn't want to. Some part of me feels as if I've learned all I need to learn on this front. Coffee is coffee right? I can grind my beans the old fashion way and what am I too lazy to turn on the machine each day? I imagine this is a lot like how my father felt the first time he tried to hook up and program a VCR. Why do we need this movie viewing machine at home when we can just go out to the movies, he must have thought? What's the point of this?

This brings me back to aging and getting older. At some point, technology passes us all by. It's true. Everybody has had an older boss who, while an encyclopedia of knowledge in whatever field they specialize in, just refuses to learn Excel. Or perhaps they insist on carrying around a paper appointment book rather then a Palm Pilot. Maybe they even refuse to use voicemail and force their assistants to write down all their messages. They're not bad or stupid people. They just have come to a point where they no longer feel the need to master every new gadget or shortcut that comes along.

I was wondering today when will I throw in the technology towel. What will things be like then? Will I still be IMing with all my golden girls in the year 2040 on some big ass monitor with a 20lb CPU while the kids have all switched over to some brain wave operated watch that reads your thoughts and physically transmits them to your friends? Will I be still living in my house in Seattle while everyone else packs up their pods and moves to Mars where land is cheap and plentiful? Will I be taking a plane to New York while others use their molecular transporters? Okay, these are far fetched ideas but you get my point.

Well, I'm going to go read about my new coffee machine. Happy entry into the fourth decade to me!

***This should have posted last night but technical problems occurred. They also occurred with our new coffee machine which did not automatically brew this morning. Damn technology (holds walking stick aloft in the air and shakes violently).

7:04 a.m. - 2004-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife