mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

State of the Nation

Wow! I just listened to the State of the Union address and boy do I feel proud to be an American. I feel inspired, powerful, and confident in our future. Okay, okay - I feel none of those things. In fact, I feel depressed. I feel like I actually have something in common with Ted Kennedy, who shook his head in absolute horror throughout Bush's speech. If there's one thing I did not want to be able to say about myself it was that old Ted and I had something in common.

I'm not usually political here. I prefer to keep to the important topics like how *not* punk Frankie from the Real World is (MTV promised me a punk and all I got was this lousy poser). But today I feel like I have to add my two cents. How on earth is it that such a madman is allowed to run our country?

I readily admit to being fairly far left of center. I don't expect everyone to agree that Dennis Kucinich is the best candidate for President. I accept that his views are extremely liberal. That's half of the reason I dig him and I know that's a large part of the reason many moderates don't. Now on the other side of this equation is Bush - the extreme right. Why don't people seem as threatened by his policies and views as they are by Kucinich's? Why are people willing to let this homophobic, religious zealot, war monger go on and on and on? Why can he say that he will fight same sex partnerships to the death without people taking to the streets and roiting yet Kucinich can't even promote the legalization of medical marijuana without people jumping down his throat?

Tonight Bush proclaimed "One of the worst decisions our children can make is to gamble their lives and futures on drugs." Who'd know better than an ex-cokehead alcoholic? He had the nerve to suggest more random drug testing of students. You know, if they'd been testing when George was in school, he'd have been expelled (as would the Bush twins). And his emphasis on helping the children of America?!!! Please!!! Here's a guy who's own children begged him not to run till after they were done with school (they wanted to keep their lives private) and the bastard couldn't even grant them that. Oh wait, I forgot that he was called by God to be our President and God overrides Jenna. Is anyone else concerned that the President believes God speaks directly to him?!!

Grrrrr.....I am frustrated and in my frustration I have written my own State of The Union address. Here it goes.....

My fellow Americans, I ask you to take a look around you and count how many of your friends and family members are unemployed. I ask you to take count of how many of your peers are without adequate health insurance. I request that you make a list of those people you know who feel as if they have been forgotten or outcast by their government. How many people do you know that have faith in our leaders and in their commitment to bettering the world for *all* people? And I ask that you take information with you to the polls in 2004.

That is all.

8:24 p.m. - 2004-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife