mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Ski! I Run Triathlons! I Watch MTV! Now That's Well Rounded.

I received my first "Happy 30th Birthday" card from my friend Erin in the mail this weekend. It said something to the effect that if I feel bad now I should just wait till I was 60. Erin was nice enough to let me know that all 30th birthday cards are just horrible (so she bought the worst one she could find) but her first seven months in the third decade of her life seemed to go fairly well and that I shouldn't sweat it. I'm trying not to even though there are just 17 days left in my twenties. Sigh.


I did do something I've never done before this last weekend, something a twenty two year old me would have had a good hard laugh at should it have been proposed as an activity. I cross country skied. And what's funnier than that - I really enjoyed it. For the most part, things went smoothly. We found a flat road which was off limits to cars and skied along a river. The dogs trotted along side. Overall, it was uneventful but there was a moment there where I feared death was calling my name. A large snow plow came barreling down the road and due to an unfamiliarity with the way skis were removed from ski boots, I was forced to throw myself into a snow bank in order to get out of the line of fire. I was then unable to regain upright composure and managed to tied my legs in uncomfortable knots. The driver of the plow had a good hard laugh as he drove by my pretzel-like corpse. After that I spent 15 minutes practicing how to release the clasps on the skis and all future embarrassment was avoided.


Speaking of healthy activity, I've decided to run the Danskin Triathlon this summer. Many online journalers that I greatly admire have run this sucker and thanks to their inspiration I am going to give it a shot. AND by putting it here in print I feel that there is really no way for me to back out of this - not that I want to. It seems right somehow, kind of predestined that I should be doing this now. There is some sort rhythm to it, you know - triathlon, thirty - perhaps I'm drawing too much on the numbers but whatever gets me up at 5:45 AM and through my workouts I'll choose to believe in for now. By the way, I won't be posting any photos of myself in a swim cap and should anyone try to capture the moment on film, I'll snap their neck in two with my bare hands.


And on a final thought, has anyone besides me lost an hour of their life on MTV's True Life "I Am In A Time Share At The Jersey Shore?" Good lawd, please tell me that guy was kidding, that he isn't really like that at all and was just imitating the saddest and smallest life a person could imagine. Sometimes I wish we still had a Darwinian element to our society that weeded out the stupid and useless. Luckily I was able to cleanse my palate with the first episode of The Real World San Diego where the people are so much more purposeful.

I feel like this is the time to let you all know I have read four books in the last four weeks and I'm not nearly as pop culture inundated as it appears. Really, I am a productive member of society. No- really!

8:03 p.m. - 2004-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife