mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whole Foods Should Be Called Whole Paychecks

I have survived another holiday! Despite agreeing to a no-gift policy this year (the jotul was to take the place of all presents), Pete purchased one of the loveliest necklaces ever for me. It's silver with amber teardrops and from one of my favorite little shops. Simply exquisite. Perhaps if I ever get around to it, I'll post a picture.

On Christmas Eve I made my way to Whole Foods where all holy hell had broken loose. In order to pick up a duck, I had to fight off hordes of amateur shoppers in fuzzy wool sweaters embroidered with wreaths and reindeers. Luckily, I grew up in New York and I'm not afraid to throw an elbow or two into the mix in order to get what I want.

Whole Foods should of course be called Whole Paychecks because that's about what I spend every time I go there. It's absolutely impossible to leave there without dropping a buttload of cash. I mean, have you seen their cheese section? It's heaven and it's calling my name! But the duck was purchased along with several other essentials (wine, beer, and bacon) and the dinner was delicious.

Christmas day we traveled to the dog park in hope of spotting a Christmas puppy or two. We stopped at Rosenblatts on the way (hooray for the Jews and their open shops) and got some hot coffee. No puppies were present but my little Desi seemed to enjoy himself. The rest of the day was spent painting the office, reading, and generally cuddling.

The weekend brought about a search for a five panel door. We had to travel to three separate salvage shops to find the right size but we got one and it fits oh so perfect. Okay, you know you're getting old and dull when finding the right door for your study gives you a thrill. Just you wait till I post pics. You'll see how exciting a door can be.

Now to redeem myself slightly in terms of the cool factor, I'll be attending the Heaven and Hell Ball this New Years Eve and I've found the cutest black velvet vintage dress to wear. It's an A line with this high pearl collar. It's a little shorter than I normally wear (slightly go-go style) but heck, it's the New Year - time to show a little leg!

2003 has really been a hell of a year. So many wonderful things happened for me and at the same time, I lost one of the most influential people in my life, my grandmother. It's going to be odd facing the upcoming year without her.

And on that note, I imagine I won't update till after the New Year so best to you and yours and thanks for reading.

3:27 p.m. - 2003-12-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife