mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Billy Blanks Would Be So Proud

I'm exhausted. I know, I know. What else is new? But hot damn! Today I have a real reason for my exhaustion. I have started getting up at the ass crack of dawn to get to the gym - go friggin' me! Now there is nothing more boring than hearing about the details of people's workouts (okay that's not really true - this gal can make even the elliptical machine a pleasure to read about) and I promise not to make "how many reps I did today" a regular feature of Rainy Daze but just this once I'm going to speak a bit about my fitness regime.

Let's start with the fact that Summer and Spring are a breeze for me exercise-wise. Between all the hiking, camping, and biking I get to do, I generally feel fairly good about myself but when the Autumn rains start to fall it's all I can do to leave the comfort of my Trading Spaces marathon and head to the kitchen for more Shiraz. This last summer was by far my most active ever and so my inclination toward total seasonal laziness disorder seems suddenly more pronounced. I actually feel guilty - WTF?!!! I feel like I am neglecting my body and that those cute little jeans may suddenly be relegated to the back of my closet if I don't do my part. I also feel as if I may be setting myself up for multiple bouts of flu, colds, and a general susceptibility to germs with my bedridden behaviors. Severe psychosis, possible OCD anyone?

So in the throes of a fit of self loathing, I headed over to my old gym. I haven't been a member in roughly three years. I was sort of playing around with other gyms, a month of free membership here a trial class there, but please don't tell my old standby. We really don't need to have any more tension in our relationship. I've already had a crying fit about how after eight hours a day inside at my job I can't stand another hour indoors. Old gym told me to buck up and then welcomed me back with open arms (once I signed over my paycheck).

Here's something you may not know about me - I need structure. I need classes. I need roll call. I cannot be trusted to head into the gym and just "work out." Oh no! I need to know there is an instructor watching my every move and that I cannot sneak out of class early to shovel donuts and lattes into my piehole. This relegates me to AM classes where the group numbers are small and the instructor actually knows your name. To further enforce that I *had* to do this, I actually walked up to the instructor and told her I'd be at both her Monday and Wednesday Step Class from "now on." That class meets at 6:20 AM yo! That means I was up at 5:50 AM! And I was without coffee till 7:45 AM. You don't want to see me without coffee - ever! Poor aerobics instructor had to watch me spaz about at my least coordinated grunting to an extended remix of Madonna's Lucky Star. Why oh why must work out music suck ass?

To make a long story short, I've given myself a fairly lenient schedule. I must go to the gym three times a week but never on a Friday and only if I really want to on weekends. I must go in the morning because given a full day to think about it I will surely come up with an excuse. I do not have to use any machines which look as if they might double as some sort of sexual torture device and I will allow myself to read whatever mindless crap the gym supplies free of guilt (Glamour Magazine, here I come). I think with those guidelines in mind, I may actually make it to Spring. Wish my abs luck!

8:54 p.m. - 2003-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife