mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bone Tired

Grandma
1919-2003

I feel as if I could sleep for a full week and still be exhausted. Everything about the last few days has been so incredibly hard. There isn't a moment of it I'd chose to relive.

Just a minute ago, I was updating my Instant Messenger. I was removing someone's identity as I had realized I had no idea who they were, and as I went through the list I came across my grandmothers member name. It took me by so much surprise that I almost couldn't breath.

I had meant to mention that my grandmother had died on her wedding anniversary. You may recall that she told her neighbor that my grandfather had visited her in her living room a few weeks back to let her know she could come (to Heaven) now, that there was room. Perhaps she promised she'd be there on her wedding anniversary. If you're inclined to believe in such things as an afterlife, this is likely to be comforting.

Tuesday was about as bad as it can get. I cried a steady stream of tears at the funeral parlor. This continued as we traveled by limo to the church. It is traditional to drive by the persons home. There was a single chair out on my grandmothers porch where we had last sat together. I wept as we passed. We headed to the church I attended as a child and I did a reading, then on to the cemetery, and then on to a luncheon. There are details I'll fill in later but for now I just want to rest.

1:44 p.m. - 2003-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife