mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gooble, Gobble--We Accept Her--One of Us

This weekend I hosted a little dinner party. Our guest list included the likes of Dishery and Steve as well as Judy and Jiri. There were game hens, and roasted red potatoes, asparagus and a chocolate cheese cake (that I did not make but that I enjoyed ever so much). There was music and wine and lot of laughs but the one thing I realized most acutely that evening is what a little Stepford wife I've become. The only difference is my Stepford is Ballard, Washington.

For newer readers and non-Seattlites, I live in a neighborhood about ten minutes north of downtown known as Ballard. To be real technical, I live on the cusp of Ballard and Fremont. Hipsters have began referring to this area as Frelard but I'd be humiliated saying such a thing.

All of my days in Seattle have been spent in the Northend. It felt like home from the get-go with it's modest wood houses, neat shops, and easy accessibility to ultra-urban areas. Sure I miss out on some of the perks Capitol Hill residents enjoy but the real estate is cheaper and we have a Sonic Boom too so here I am.

The thing is, I never realized how committed I am to the area till the other night. Besides trying to sell Dishery and Steve on purchasing a house on my block, I raved endlessly about all of the amenities my hood has to offer.

Need a plumber? I know a great one right here in Ballard. Want to get some hot shoes? There's a lovely boutique down on Old Ballard Ave. Looking for a great place to have breakfast? Try Vera's off Market in beautiful central Ballard. Oh this cheesecake, you like it? It's from the Ballard Market. The Tractor Tavern right here in Ballard is such a great venue, don't you think? Parking here in Ballard is so easy. Oh and I just love the Burke Gilman Trail for biking (that begins right here in Ballard, you know). Have you been to the Farmers Market we have yet? Oh you simply must go. And on and on. I act as if I am a CEO at Disney selling Celebration, USA to the masses. I am seriously beginning to wonder if I have been brainwashed. Perhaps having a huge mortgage hanging over my head has something to do with this condition?

In my defense, I do leave Ballard daily both for work and leisure. I suppose if I quit my job and take a part time position pouring coffee up the block at Mr. Spot's Chai House someone should employ an intervention.


We booked tickets to Costa Rica today. We'll be there for two weeks in February to celebrate my thirtieth birthday. Yes, my birthday is in January but so is the busiest time of the year for me work-wise (I will however be calling in 30 on the 29th of the month). So now I need your help. Travel tips from anyone who has been there please -"must sees," lodging, places to see monkeys (Pete has got to see a monkey or he'll simply explode). All helpful hints will result in a handwritten postcard and my undying devotion.

7:24 p.m. - 2003-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife