mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rastaman Vibrations

The other night Pete and I were discussing the state of reggae music in the USA. To be honest, I'm not a huge reggae fan. I could list a million reasons why it doesn't appeal to me but mostly it can be summed up with this one thought; drunk white frat boys singing along to Bob Marley's Legend album in the middle of the streets of Boston every night of the week. Apparently, it is a staple of every freshman's CD collection. You can't get into Boston University without it.

Before you start sending me hate mail, let me explain that I do understand that Marley himself was a genius and that there are lots of fantastic reggae artists whose music really stands for something but truth be told, the typical fan of reggae music in the US is a real turn off to me. You get your Trustifarians who are basically in it for the pot and chicks. You have the aforementioned frat boys. There is the older, hippy crowd. And most importantly you have a handful of real Rastas who came Stateside for reasons that don't really make any sense and seem completely at odds with their core values. Not really my crowd. But still I respect that musically this genre is more interesting than say, Brittany Spears. There's a message in the music and passion in the orchestration. There's soothing tones and rhythmic beats. Some of it is even quite sensual. As a scene though, it's just not for me.

Nonetheless, there is a certain category of reggae I find completely devoid of any value. Dancehall. I loathe Dancehall. I would rather pour salt directly into my open eyes than listen to Dancehall. I hate the repetition and the booming bass. I despise the sound of "riddims." I hate the way people move to it like they are in the throws of a seizure while genuinely believing they look sexy and sleek.

The interesting thing about Dancehall music in the US is that there can only be one artist successfully performing this genre at a time. Seriously, turn on the radio right now and flip through the commercial channels for a bit. What Dancehall artists do you hear? Sean Paul, right? Now flip some more. Sean Paul again. Try to find another one. You can't, can you? A few months ago it was all Shaggy, all the time but he's been dethroned by the reigning King of Dancehall, Sean Paul. Even before Shaggy there was Snow, the Canadian artist most well know for the pop radio hit “Informer.” I am thoroughly convinced that Snow was a ploy by the Canadian Government to punish us for being such crummy next door neighbors.

So of course this leaves us with the very important question, who will overturn the rule of one Sean Paul? Who will be the next American Dancehall Reggae Idol? My bet is that it will be Dylan of Da Band fame. I expect him to break away from the group in the same style as Wyclef Jean of Fugees fame. Oh yeah, he's got a long and illustrious career ahead of him (insert sarcastic smirk here).


As long as we are talking about music that sucks, I bring to your attention the theme song for Olivers Twist. I love me a little Jamie O. but what the hell was he thinking with selecting this band to play what is clearly one of the worst songs I've ever heard? Did you ask him about this in your interview? What excuse could he possible have for broadcasting this kind of noise pollution? Are members of the band relatives of his or something? Gah, this song makes that rehashed version of "Two Tickets to Paradise" which opens Paradise Hotel sound good.


And finally, thanks to everyone who left kind words in my guestbook about my upcoming birthday. I actually know I am very lucky and have accomplished so many things. I have a wonderful marriage, great friends, I own my own home, I am happy with where I reside and the opportunities it affords me, I have traveled, expanded my mind, and most importantly, I am completely comfortable in my own skin.

Sometimes though, I wish the path was a little clearer for me. I wish I had a better idea of my long term goals. I have this friend who I have known since I was three. From the first day I met her she *knew* she was going to be a teacher. It was all she talked about. The only make believe game she'd play was "school." And now she is a teacher. She never once wavered from that game plan. Never wanted to be a rock star or an stock car racer or a bull fighter. It was just that simple for her. Me, I've wanted to be everything under the sun at one point or another and I've wanted to be nothing too, to just drift. It's complicated. On the other hand, talking to my friend is about as interesting as staring at a white wall. I'd like to think I'm at least engaging and intriguing and that my forays into various careers make for good story telling and my nomadic lifestyle has given me perspective. So for now, I'm just going to take things as they come. See what happens.

11:29 a.m. - 2003-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife