mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bloggish

This entry is going to be rather bloggish. Please excuse the lack of creativity.

The weekend was lovely, wasn't it? The weather in the Northwest is to die for at the moment. But don't start your apartment search just yet my fellow Americans. I am certain the rain will come in droves any day now.

With Pete's help, I dug up the side garden and rototilled in preparation for planting our tulip beds. Swansons Nursery had a fantastic selection. We picked up some Queens of Night, a few Arabian Mysts, a bag of Darwin Hybrids, and many basic Holland Reds. Oh and Daffodils, can't forget the Daffodils. I'm sure I'll bore you with pictures this Spring.

I also biked over to the Japanese Garden at the Washington Park Arboretum. How much do I want a koi pond? Too much to be healthy. You should have seen these carp! They were ginormous and bright. They kept breaking through the surface of the water, catching a ray or two of sun, then dipping back down. I wish I'd had a camera although I am sure I'd hardly begin to capture their elegance and grace. If you're in the area, go check it out. It's worth the $3.00.

Sunday evening found us gathered around Judy and Jiri's dinner table feasting on cedar grilled salmon and the tastiest salad ever (wonderful blue cheese chunks and candied walnuts as well as a tasty raspberry vinaigrette). I finally got to meet their friend Hannah from Austrailia whom I'd heard so much about. An interesting side note about Hannah, Judy turned her on to this here diary awhile back and she's been reading along ever since. Well, one day I wrote an entry in which I complained about my neighbors "wonderful news." They were expecting a child. Well you know, Judy and Jiri are my neighbors too and I guess Hannah got the wrong idea. Luckily she didn't start knitting baby booties or anything but she did call up Judy semi-panicked over what appeared to be secrecy on her part. The whole thing was cleared up when Judy explained it my other, less cool neighbors who were going all breeder on me.

In other news, I received an interesting email today from my eighth grade teacher who found my journal through a search for some of my former classmates whom I make mention of this entry. The email went something like this:

Date: Mon, 22 Sep 2003 14:27:59 -0400
From: "8th Grade Teacher" <8th Grade [email protected]> | This is spam | Add to Address Book
To: [email protected]
Subject: Hey, who are you?

I was "surfing" and came across your website. I recognized two of the names you mentioned. That means you were one of my students when I taught at Our Lady Of Perpetual Guilt and Sinning, 86-87!

My response:

Date: Mon, 22 Sep 2003 16:27:59 -0400
From: "[email protected]" | This is spam | Add to Address Book
To: "8th Grade Teacher" <8th Grade [email protected]>
Subject: Who I Am

Dear Mr. 8th Grade Teacher,

Since I am almost 30, I am wondering if it would be okay if I called you 8th Grade? :) So you wouldn't believe how many people "surf" for Student X and Student Y. I must get about ten hits a week on that entry alone. I guess being the most popular and the smartest students makes you very "google"able.

So obviously, I am Mrs-Roboto. You might have fond memories of my hair. It was quite large. I am happy to report it's very natural and straight these days. I don't think I made any other accomplishments in the seventh and eighth grade that you would remember me for.

Here is what I remember about you . You were ambivalent about giving Kenneth Henry a re-test one day and you decided that if he could beat you in a hand of poker you would allow him to retake the exam. I played consul to the game and advised you to keep a pair of jacks. You won but you let him have a re-test anyway. That was awfully nice of you.

I want to assure my readers that 8th Grade teacher is not some sort of cyber stalker. He is planning a reunion (of his school, not mine) and has been doing research and you know how these things work. Besides who hasn't done a search for someone just out of curiosity? I "google" random people all the time just to see if any thing comes up. Anyway, these are some of the interesting things that arise with online journaling. You have to wonder, is it only a matter of time till my monsters-in-law find this thing and disown us? I guess one can only hope.

3:27 p.m. - 2003-09-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife