mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Going Back to Cali

Up until now, I haven't weighed in on the California gubernatorial campaign. It wasn't that I didn't feel qualified, after all I pride myself on the fact that I've seen every episode ever made of Diff'rent Strokes (even the teenage years where they brought in that little red headed stepchild in an attempt to Jump the Shark), I've sat through Pumping Iron twice (granted I was stoned), and even went through a stage where I thought Gallagher was hilarious (see reasons for repeated viewing of Pumping Iron).

My main reason for not putting my two cents in earlier was that I just didn't care but then today I heard something that hit real close to home. It appears that former teen heartthrob Rob Lowe will be joining Schwarzenegger's campaign. Now I love me some John Hughes and seriously will watch anything he's ever done over and over (I may even see Maid in Manhattan despite my aversion to J-Lo). I own multiple copies of Sixteen Candles, Some Kind of Wonderful, Pretty in Pink, and Weird Science 'cause you never know when one will give out. And don't even get me started on the Breakfast Club. I could go on and on for days about the genius that is that movie.

And that's when it hit me! There is only one way to get my generation, a generation that watched things rot under Reagan and the Bush Clan but soar under Clinton, to vote Republican. Fill your proposed cabinet with Brat Packers! Put Molly Ringwald in as Secretary of State. She's been brilliant in every single thing she's ever done. Yes, even Townies! She can surely tackle the responsibilities of being Cali's chief elections officer and records keeper. Ever seen how she can put on her lipstick without using her hands? Yep, pure genius there just got to get her back from France (damn French always f*cking thing up for us Americans). Bring on some Robert Downey Jr. as State Attorney General. I mean who knows more about the long arm of the law than that crack smoker? Show Anthony Michael Hall a little love and give him the position of State Controller. I mean, I saw him play Bill Gates in that made for TV movie and the guy seems to know a thing or two about the greenback, don't you agree? State Insurance Commissioner is clearly Andrew McCarthy. With his lack of a an upper lip he totally fits the bill as a crotchety, old insurance salesman. The choice for director of Child Development and Education is clearly Demi Moore. After all, she's dating Astin Kutcher and he's like in the 10th grade. And finally give us Ally Sheedy as the Director of Food and Agriculture because who knows more about food than a recovering bulimic/anorexic?

So I say to Arnold, let's bring both California and the golden age of teen movies back! And remember that whole 80's thing is really hip right now.


Small side note to those pop culture heads out there - If you at all recall Sam from Diff'rent Strokes don't you think he and Clay Aiken totally one in the same or what?


One more quick note, I'm off to NYC for a few days so updates will be on hold till late next week. Wish me luck.

9:34 p.m. - 2003-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife