mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Few Questions, A Few Answers

These are from the fantastic Birdgyrl who left some questions in my guestbook on Thursday and at long last, here are my answers.

What was your first memory? How old were you?

My first memory is of being in a playpen at my grandparents apartment. The pen was lined up against the a door which led to my aunt's bedroom. I adored my aunt and would watch her enter and leave her room through another door (one not blocked by the playpen). This particular day, I managed to pull myself up and somehow work the knob to the door and open it just enough to peek in. I remember being in awe of my ability to turn a door knob (it was my first time) and then in even greater awe that I could see my aunt. I giggled and laughed like the devious, little creature I was. I think I may have just been two years old when this happened.

Do you have any regrets about your life thus far?

I HATE when people say they have no regrets because I absolutely don't buy it. Everybody has regrets. You can say, "oh, I don't regret anything because I wouldn't be who I am without X,X, &Y" and sure that's true but damned if you can't wish you had handled something differently.

So yeah, back to my regrets. First of all, I regret not taking a certain internship with a magazine in Boston that I was offered my sophomore year. The magazine in question is a big one and the interviewer was impressed with my writing samples and I had this connection with her. Sure, all I'd really be doing was filing but I think it would have been a good environment for me to be in. The reason I didn't proceed with the internship had to do with money and well, the magazine wasn't paying any. I was responsible for my own rent and didn't see a way to make ends meet without a job that paid. In retrospect, I wish I'd taken a few more loans and given the internship a shot. I mean, debtwise it wouldn't have made a whole lot of difference to take another $4000.00 against rent but I sort of believe that it was a major crossroads in my life and that I took a wrong turn.

I regret remaining friends with people even after I discovered they weren't such great souls. Enough said.

I regret dating anyone who treated me poorly. I also regret treating anyone I dated poorly rather than just ending the relationship when I recognized it wasn't going anywhere.

I regret returning to New York after leaving college in Boston. I think I just pulled into a safe port rather than seeking out the unknown. Luckily, I recognized that in time and moved on.

I regret not taking my education more seriously.

Okay, I think that's enough. I feel maudlin now.

What is your favorite season of the year and why?

In the Pacific Northwest it is without a doubt summer. The weather makes my heart soar. Those blue skies bring me to my knees. Daylight that lasts till almost 11:00 PM, what can be better than that?

Now, if I were back in the Northeast, the answer would be Autumn. The first crisp evening wrapped in a cable knit cardigan, the foliage, the smell of warm apple cider. These are a few of my favorite things.

Do you think fate is responsible for any part of your life? Explain.

I don't believe for a moment in fate. I am so practical it is ridiculous. I believe that everything good that has come into my life has been the result of my hard work to make it happen. Everything bad was either a random occurrence or something I manifested as a result of my behavior. That being said, I do wonder why I was so lucky as to meet the perfect life partner at just the right time and why he was willing to chase me across the US at that point in his life. I also think about why some things fall into place at the last possible moment, narrowly avoiding serious catastrophe, but if I give it any real thought I come back to my original thoughts on the manner.

On a similar note, I don't believe in an afterlife. Scientifically, it's improbable and my years of organized religious education made me a Doubting Thomas (but not all for naught, look at the references I can share). That being said, I had that experience a few weeks before my grandmother got sick where I was visited by my grandfather in my dreams. I woke up still being able to feel the embrace we shared and for a moment I almost believed in God again.

How would you describe yourself in 5 adjectives?

Self-reliant, creative, sensitive, humorous, and introspective.

So you wanna play along? Then you'll need to

a) Sign the guestbook, saying you want to be interviewed.

b)I will respond; I'll ask you five questions.

c) You'll update your website with my five questions, and your five answers.

and

d) You'll include this explanation and ask five other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.

4:02 p.m. - 2003-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife