mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two Great Tastes That Taste Great Together

The words "filing" and "party" should never be used together to describe an event. Likewise for "work" and "party." These things are like oil and water. They just don't mix.

According to Miriam Webster's Dictionary filing describes "the act of arranging documents in order for preservation and reference." Party of course refers to some sort of social gathering. Specifically for me, a party should include frost beverages and tasty treats and cute vintage dresses. And if it's the month of August, there best be some grilling involved. I just don't think filing and parties have the same attraction as say, peanut butter and chocolate. You know?

Let's call a spade a spade. I don't believe our Executive Director plans to bring a keg and chips in for us to partake in while we all file our bottoms off so what we we're basically talking about here is just plain work and I'm okay with that. The filing in question is for a coworker that I particularly like and respect. She's been on reduced hours after having a baby so there's plenty of paperwork just kicking about in her office. It needs to get put away. I'm happy to help her out just don't try to disguise manual labor as a day at the park with a picnic.

Interestingly enough, the first idea that was kicked around for "Project Put Stuff Away" involved all six employees of our small nonprofit organization squeezing into a single 6' x 6' office and filing together into two, three drawer filing cabinets. Can we just say "clusterfuck?" When this concept was introduced at the Tuesday morning staff meeting it took all my self control not to bust out laughing. You can't fit six people in A's office. It just cannot be done. Yet our Executive Director, who is ever the optimist, continued to plug this idea. She is a big proponent of team work and bonding experiences. You know what makes a people feel especially close to one another? Being sandwiched together in small box against their will. Just ask my mom, she was stuck for several hours in a subway car last night with her fellow New Yorkers. I bet she's made bonds that will last a lifetime.

It took Lauren about five minutes to convince our Director that we could each commit to an hour of filing on an individual basis and make the mess disappear. So that's what we are doing. It's no party but it gets the job done.


The weekend looks good. Pete and I planned a day hike out by Snoqualmie on Saturday. Camping was originally on the agenda but I think I need to hang close to home in case of any news on my grandmother (who was actually at the best place she could have been during a blackout - the hospital). At some point I hope to dine on sushi and have some chilled chardonnay. And I *will* fit in a viewing of this film and practice my belly dancing (confidential to kfk - I am totally composing an email to you about how great it is). Tomorrow is of course the anniversary of Elvis' passing (you all know I love me some Elvis) and the Paragon is having a celebration with lots of Elvis impersonators so I'd like to stop on in and check that out too. I'd like to do some shopping and get some material for sewing a new skirt and stop by the Farmers Market. I can already tell this weekend will be too short. Boo.

12:55 p.m. - 2003-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife