mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scenes and Cliques

So last Monday, I asked Pete to pick up my birth control pills at the pharmacy. I've been using the same type of birth control pills for over a decade now. They switched it to a generic of the name brand a few months. The packaging was different but the results were the same. All was good in the world.

When Pete brought home my pills they looked different yet again but I was too tired to do any investigation. I thought maybe this was a generic of the generic. So, I just popped a few (I was a day behind) and settled in for an episode of my new obsession, Six Feet Under (yep, I'm late to the party again).

The next day I actually decided to look at what I was ingesting and guess what? It was a completely different prescription than I normally get. Fan-friggin-tastic! Panicked calls ensued. Doctors weighed in on the issue. I got all kinds of freaked out and screamed. The stupid pharmacist apologized profusely. The end result - I'll be fine. The dosage on the prescription that is higher than what I normally take so I feel drained but I'm back on the old stuff and will recover.

I've been getting in touch with my antiquated side as of late. I'm using such phrases as:

"What do you think we're part of the Rockefellar family?" - in reference to Pete wanting to throw away a cheese grated that cost $1.50 originally and was recently damaged in a stove top fire.

"I'll need a bushel of potatoes and a peck of sugar." - stated out loud while writing the weekly grocery list.

"A penny saved is a penny earned." - declared as I cleaned change out from under the cushions of my couch.

"Gadzooks!"- exclaimed while watching someone get killed on Six Feet Under.

"I'll see you in a fortnight." - told to a friend who's car I am watching for the next two weeks.

The list goes on and on. I'm not really certain what has brought about this little foray into ye olde terminology but I suspect it might be the fact that someone recently used the term "deck" to describe my attire. In case you're not up on the hipster lingo here's a crash course. Have I mentioned how much I hate the whole Hipster Movement? I do. I do, I do! With a burning, white hot passion. It's yet another mall ready cult trying to be different but maintaining the most minimal level of uniqueness so as not to rock the boat. And while I am on things that disgust me, lets talk about the Emo Movement. Oh let's not. It will just get me pissed off. So I think my new-old speech pattern might be representative of a backlash.

Bottom line is that I think I am just too old for scenes of any sort. I go to shows and could care less if I am the least cool person there. Okay, okay so I still have a fear of being mocked by people who work at record stores and video places but really isn't that what the Internet was made for? Thank you Netflicks and Amazon.com. Now I can watch Over the Edge and listen to Hall and Oates without having complete strangers judge me. Isn't life great?

12:25 p.m. - 2003-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife