mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Visit Part I

I'm not even sure where to begin with the horror of this weekend. It was worse then I could have imagined and I think to get the real gist of it, you need a little background information on the way the in-laws interact. They don't. Before I met the Faces, I used to go around talking all kinds of dope about the Robotos and thinking we were so messed up as a family unit. All it took was one meeting with the Faces to see we're really the Brady Bunch.

So I think this may take more than one entry to cover but I'll begin to weave my tale of dismay and see how far I can get before exhaustion and depression takes over. My sister in law, her husband, and their two year old son were expected to arrive on Thursday evening, roughly around 7:00 PM. They were flying into Portland, where the brother in law, let's call him Stew, has a convention to attend. They would then rent a car and drive to Seattle. 7:00 came and went, as did 8:00, and finally 9:00. My mother-in-law began calling at 8:00 to see if they arrived safely. Father-in-law got on the line and added that the reason they were late was that Stew was guilty of DWA. What's that you ask? Driving While Asian. Yep, no better way to start off the holiday weekend then with a racist comment.

At about 9:30, Stew, Marge and Damian pull up in front of the house and before they could even exit the car Damian begins wailing. This wailing would continue for almost every moment of the weekend. Damian is exhausted of course, and I decide to give him the benefit of the doubt. I think to myself he's probably a nice kid when he's well rested. Tomorrow will be a better day for him. But for some reason Damian doesn't want to go into the house. Perhaps it's the unfamiliarity or maybe he wants to be outside for a bit since he's been trapped in the car for the last two hours. Who knows, who cares. Marge picks him up to carry him inside since he has splayed himself face down on my lawn, kicking and crying, and that's when I see it for the first time. Damian raises his hand and slaps Marge right across the face. Hard. And Marge does nothing. Not a thing. And this is not the first time or the last that I will see this child slap his parents.

Once inside, Damian continues crying and screaming. I have put out an array of appetizers upon the Faces arrival which catch the beasts attention. He heads towards the cheeses and begins flinging them across the room. Do his mom and dad try to stop him? No. Pete sees Damian reaching for a knife and disaster is narrowly avoided this time as Pete wrestles the knife from his hands. Damian cries out "mine" while pointing at the knife and attempting to kick Pete in the shins. I can't remember how this evening ended. I know there was much screaming and lots of drinking on my part, enough to make me forget and sleep through till the 5:00 AM crying began again.

Okay, that's all I can do for now. More next time when my blood pressure drops back down to a normal rate. What I have told you thus far is actually the best part of the visit if you can believe that. Oh and the29th will be receiving a fine prize as soon as I get my head together and think of something.

11:31 a.m. - 2003-07-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife