mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's All About Marketing Baby!

Some ad campaigns I really hate:

Verb-It's What You Do.
I hate this campaign almost as much as I hate George W. I realize it's geared at teens and thus should have no appeal for a woman who is rapidly approaching 30 but so is Diaryland and I adore that. I suppose my real issue is that even at fifteen this wouldn't have appealed to me. All the verbs are like "jump," "run," and "cheer." What happened to real adolescent verbs like "sulk," "pout," "smoke," and "cope a feel?" The last thing I wanted when I was in high school was to be told to be more active and learn a life skill like teether ball and now that I am a cranky, old lady I feel like saying "I got a verb for you! Work. When I was your age I worked forty hours a week. I had no time for swimming with the dolphins or rock climbing ..... yadda, yadda, yadda." Ah yes, AARP send me my application now.

Walmart - Always Low Prices. Always.
Why they feel the need for such repetition is beyond me. I got the message the first time and I understand why the prices are always low. You sell crap - absolute crap! Oh and you underpay and overwork your employees by brainwashing them with that corporate family bullshit. Walmart - I Always Hate You. Always.

Delta - Getting You There.
I should hope so, the alternative is Delta - Planes That Take Off But Either Explode Into Flames Or Crash Into the Sea Before Landing. I think Delta has finally dropped this ad campaign as I can find no real reference to it. Good move Delta.

Statefarm - Like A Good Neighbor, Statefarm Is There.
A good neighbor doesn't ask me to shell out hundreds of dollars for auto/home insurance every month.

McDonalds - "I’m Lovin’ It"™.
Charlie Bell, McDonald’s President and Chief Operating Officer, said, “This compelling creative approach proves that great ideas can come from anywhere within the McDonald’s System. Given the outstanding talent we have around the globe, we are further leveraging our best thinking. What we are putting together is a whole lot more than a theme or a creative execution. ‘i’m lovin’ it’ will be a unifying element for the global creative approach this fall that connects with customers as only McDonald’s can. We are on our way to a new era of marketing at McDonald’s. We intend to have some fun, and even share a few surprises.”
"A unifying element?" I'm sure this will end the conflict in the Middle East. Finally the Arabs and the Israelis have something they can agree on. McDonald's, they're lovin' it more than the Holy Land! "Compelling creative approach?" My one year old nephew Will could come up with a more interesting catch phrase and his vocabulary is limited to Ma. Dada, and Binky. He probably can also spell "loving" correctly. And I certainly hope these surprises they plan to share don't include what the meat patty in a Big Mac is really made of.

Now, some that I love:

Transformers - Robots In Disguise.
I can sing every word to this pithy jingle. I bet you can too. "Autobots wage their battle to destroy the evil forces of ...the Decepticons...." I know your humming along, I can see you. Okay, I can't really see you but you were humming, weren't you?

Beef - It's What's For Dinner, Pork - The Other White Meat, and Ahhh, The Power of Cheese.
Okay, out of the three I am really only a big cheese fan (I don't eat red meat and I only eat certain pork sections) but I think all of these campaigns are equally catchy. The National Venison Council should hire these ad execs to get their message out there. Maybe something along the lines of Bambi - Tastes As Good As Good As He Looks?

Whaddya Gonna Eat? HOT POCKETS.
I've never had a Hot Pocket but whenever Pete asks me what I plan to eat, I enthusiastically yell out "Hot Pockets!" This is pure genius.

Okay so now you know the things I despise and those I hold near and dear. Good stuff. And speaking of good stuff let me tell you about all the loot I got this last week.

First there was the the super surprise package from Emily which included a Sticky Space Guy. I threw him at wall and he stayed there for a good 10 hours. No, I didn't watch the whole time. I'm not that lame. And there was a cool beer coaster is now residing with my beer coaster collection. I am that lame.

And then the raddest lapel pin ever arrived from Jetbot. I so need the weather to get a bit nippier so I can show it off on my jean jacket. Luckily, I live in Seattle so I only have about three days of warm weather left before monsoon season begins.

Lastly, I got the greatest earrings from Shannon and they are totally my new favorites. They have a sparkly red bead and a crystal bead and they hang to just the right length. I feel pretty, oh so pretty.....

Thank you all. Nothing's nicer than getting stuff in the mail. Know that some cool stuff shall head your way in a week or so. Oh and for those of you with any interest at all in this kind of thing, Itzie and Amishboy just stopped by to borrow the old truck. There's furniture moving happening right now. And Monkeyface is watching something that sounds just horrible on TV as I type this. It sounds like Americas Funniest Game Show Moments. This is what it would be like if I detailed every moment of every day. Aren't you glad I don't?

9:47 p.m. - 2003-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife