mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mrs-Roboto Gets Praise For A Job Well Done

On Tuesday, the Big Boss (hereafter to be referred to as BB) came into the office space I share with L* and announced she'd like to take us both to lunch on Thursday. I've mentioned before that I work at a tiny nonprofit and there isn't much wining and dining being done with the staff. Our budget just doesn't allow for it. As a matter of fact, I can count on one hand the number of times we have gone out on the company dime (which is a-okay by me - I'm not a three martini lunch kind of gal - well the martinis sound okay but the returning to work afterwards - eh, not so much). Anyway, after the free lunch announcement I began to get very excited and dance around the office. "Free food is good food, free food is good food, free food is good food," I chanted happily. Then L proceeded to burst my bubble.

"Um," she said, "I wouldn't get so excited. I'm pretty certain we're getting reprimanded."

"What," I asked in pure awe. "Reprimanded? For what? What have we done? I am so good."

"Well the company doesn't often take people out to lunch just for the heck of it and let's face it, you and I haven't exactly been model employees lately."

This is when the mental montage began. The three hour phone call with my sister-in-law where I loudly bagged on my other in-laws in front of everyone who works here. The weekly two hour shoe shopping trip L and I indulge in because, damn it we're worth it. The constant checking to see if all my favorite journalers have updated. The times I update at work (like now). The days that I sneak out a bit early (noon or thereabouts). Yeah, sometimes I'm not the model employee, I suppose.

My next thought was about the other people who have been taken to lunch by BB. The contractors who disappointed us by not following through on their contracts, the Board members who took themselves a little too seriously and "needed a talking to," and worst of all the girl who had my job before me and actually got canned. I began to panic.

The next two days were a flurry of activity. I was beyond productive. Organizing, filing, updating, making calls, writing about our efforts - you name it, I was on top of it. Fear is one hell of a motivator and I was determined to make up for a month of slack. I was even late getting to the lunch because my dedication got in the way. I had people to contact and projects to manage.

Upon arriving at lunch, I put on my best game face. I began to ask BB questions about things that were of interest to her. I was worried but I didn't let that show. I asked about a recent vacation she took, her family, her health - anything not directly related to work. For awhile. this type of diversion worked but then she announced, "I'm sure your wondering why I called you both here today." I took a deep breath and waited for the pink slips.

"Well as you know, I have been talking about retirement a lot lately and I wanted to assure you both that your jobs at the organizations will be secure even after I have handed over the torch to the next BB. As a matter of fact, I plan to make sure nothing changes at the organization and that you continue to enjoy the same freedoms and privileges you currently do."

I exhaled. For the next fifteen minutes BB went on about how she wanted us to feel secure and confident in our positions. Sadly, L and I are too self absorbed to have even considered the impact of a change in BB's. We've mentioned BB's retirement in passing but more often than not, our conversation revolves around what we can eat, buy, or do that day. Anyway, I can now stop worrying about being fired and get back to updating my journal - phew! In all honesty, I have a great job where I am treated like an adult. I have days where I work my little fanny off and days where I don't. This is how things should be.

*names have been changed to protect the innocent.


Book group last night was super fun (even if I exceeded my curfew on a school night). Peachy brought the best strawberries and chocolate. Chiara made me laugh so hard wine almost came out of my nose. Sundry has this great energy about her and Dishery as always was an amazing host. The non-journalers rock too but I respect their right to privacy since for some insane reason they seem not to want to broadcast their lives online (what's the matter with you people). I can't wait for next months book group (even if Dishery isn't going to like the book). Perhaps by next time I'll have perfected the lift routine from Dirty Dancing and be able to show off for all my new friends! I guess you had to be there but trust me, it was funny.

10:16 a.m. - 2003-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife