mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Teen Beat

This morning on the way into work I picked up the program guide for the Seattle International Film Festival to see if there would be anything of interest to me. As I started reviewing the flicks, I came across the German film "Big Girls Don't Cry." The blurb reads:

"Two best friends from contrasting backgrounds deal with the inevitable adolescence identity crisis in wholly different ways as they negotiate the rocky road of sex, family and responsibility that leads from girlhood to womanhood."

Every year, SIFF has a coming of age story that revolves around cute teenage girls with raging libidos and parental issues. I avoid these films at all costs. Besides being ridiculously contrived, these films lack any aspect of originality and every time I run across a description of such a picture I think of the Seinfeld episode "Rochelle, Rochelle." Remember, the tale of a young girls long journey from Milan to Minsk? I haven't seen Big Girls so it may seem unfair to make this judgment but the only tale of adolescence that I've enjoyed in recent years is Ghost World.

I am planning to try and catch "Stoked: The Rise and Fall of Gator." My sophomore year of high school I was head over heels for this boy (I had a shrine of posters and press clippings about my Mark) so watching this film should adequately fulfill my monthly requirement of teen angst driven activities.


Speaking of teen angst, I am listening to the the Cure's Disintegration album as I write. The lovely Dishery was nice enough to burn me a copy and as I put it in the car stereo last night and headed home after a few tasty cocktails and some excellent conversation, it was all I could do to get off the highway at the right exit. I just wanted to drive off into the darkness with the music playing full blast. Seriously, it brings back such a rush of emotions. That album came into my possession for the first time in 1989, when I was just 15. It appealed to all my moodiness and despair. It was a soundtrack for the time and I can still sing every lyric perfectly. This morning I was careful to bring it to my office (where I can listen without the mockery of the spouse - yes he mocks but let's face it, I'm asking for it). I am even wearing an old black velvet, smoking jacket today and against my naturally pale skin, I almost feel old school Goth but not really. I'd need to buy some Bauhaus to back it all up and I'm just not up for that. Plus I was too damn tired to put on black eyeliner. Yeah, I'd make a miserable Goth girl (too much wotk) so never mind. Bring on the Kelly Hogan.

9:23 a.m. - 2003-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife