mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Melodrama and Pictures

I am home sick today with the dreaded Strep Throat. I was at work yesterday when the call came. The doctor said the culture I took last Thursday had come back positive. It's amazing how powerful the mind is. Although I had suspected all along that I had Strep ( my coworker Lauren was diagnosed a week ago and I had pretty much stuck my whole face in her lunch one day so there was little doubt that I had sucked up a few germs), I didn't actually allow myself to feel like crap till I got the test results. I exerted my body to the fullest of it's potential all weekend long and felt fairly decent. When Pete would ask about the death rattle my chest was making, I would tell him that I had no idea what he was talking about. When my face felt warm and feverish, I blamed it on the sun shining down on me and my body's need to refamiliarize itself with that kind of natural light. My breathlessness after our Sunday hike, simply a result of elevation gain and loss. The sore throat....what sore throat? I was fine, perfectly fine.

Now, I am a mess. My throat feels like sandpaper. I am exhausted and I feel as if I am burning up. The rattle in my chest is in fact death knocking. To make matters worse, Desi has Kennel Cough. Between the two of us, the mucus is flying round the Money Pit. Pete gladly fled from the house this morning, escaping the dogs hacking and my sad shuffling about, tissue in hand, moaning "uggh, ugghhhh!" I feel disoriented and I'm praying I don't mix up Desi's antibiotics with my own. They truly do look the same and I'm dumb enough to have them sitting next to one another on the kitchen counter.

I read online that Vicks 44 was good for Kennel Cough but trying to get Desi to swallow that stuff takes more energy than I can muster. I've tried disguising it as jam on bread (it's flamingly red in color) but the dog ain't buying. I tried mixing a bit in his food but he chose to not eat rather than have the medicine. The only thing the dog can't resist is pork products. Spread a little Formula 44 on a piece of ham and he'll gobble it. Sadly, I ran out of ham this morning and I am no mood to trek up to the Safeway. For now, I'll just have to live with his hacking and he'll have to live with mine.

Alright, it's time for me to go and crawl into bed and die. I've already passed this information along to Pete but just so no one else gets all up in our business and starts talking smack, I want him to marry again after I've passed. I think a year is enough grieving time and then he should take a second bride. The only thing I've asked of him is that he show my picture to Desi occasionally so he doesn't forget his mama and the love she had for him.

10:45 a.m. - 2003-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife