mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Itzie Is A Gardening Goddess


The flower bed under my bedroom window. Imagine the scent of
lavender wafting up through your window as you sleep.

How lucky am I to have a friend who will actually come over and help me dig up my crapass yard in an attempt to make it look better? Very lucky I tell you. I'm not going to show you the rest of the yard as we are mid-project and there ain't too much to see. Perhaps later on I'll give you some before and after shots. One piece of advice for those looking to change their landscape - DO NOT LOOK AT SUNSET MAGAZINE'S GARDEN ISSUE!! It will only depress and overwhelm you. I was stupid enough to pick it up and browse through it while I waited on line to buy some lavender and a bunch of other cool stuff. I almost hyperventilated and called the project quits. I have a horrible tendency to feel defeated by the accomplishments of others. In fifth grade I refused to compete in a science fair because I knew I couldn't win against Anthony Hung, who was doing something ridiculously elaborate like a moving DNA model,while I was recreating the old standard, a volcano which erupted when you added baking soda and vinegar. Then I gave myself the old "Stop Trying To Keep Up With The Jones Or You'll Turn Into An SUV Driving Yuppie And Have To Move To Bellevue" speech and came back down from my self defeating thought process. There was another small freak out session where I panicked over what to do with the left over dirt and turf (of which there was a great deal) but that too was solved after I talked myself down and realized that we could throw all the excess in the yard and deal with it at a later date. Out of sight, out of mind. And Itzie was great and remained calm and came up with some fantastic ideas. She reminded me that a garden is a work in progress and it may take awhile to achieve the look we're going for (that of grasses and crawling things and wild flowers and rocks). It will happen but with a garden there is no such thing as immediate gratification. Watch me strike a zen-like Buddist pose now.

There was also an announcement by my next door neighbors that they were expecting a child. I was a little overwhelmed by this information as just a few month ago they had attested to their desires to remain non-breeders. And I quote "We do not want children. They will just slow us down. Blah, blah, blah." I guess I should have had them sign an affidavit at the time. My first response to this news was "But wait ....You said you weren't going to do this (not said part 'to us')." Probably not the response they were looking for. I quickly recovered with a "That's just wonderful!" I hope I sounded sincere. Oh, don't get me wrong. I do like children but the fact of the matter is my neighbors house is small and the single spare room they have (which will surely become a nursery) is quite close in proximity to my bedroom window. I like sleep a lot more than I like children. You can bet I'll be putting in some bamboo between the houses for a little bit of soundproofing.

11:20 a.m. - 2003-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife