mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Theme Music

I've been thinking a lot about how I need a theme song. You know, something to blare as I enter a room just like all the professional wrestlers have on Sunday Night Heat. Okay, so it might be a little weird for my coworkers at first, having to hear the same, loud melody as I enter the office every morning. It would probably be most annoying when I return from the thousand trips I take to the restroom every day. Can you imagine hearing LL Cool J's "Around the Way Girl" every time I visited your house? Okay, I haven't quite sold myself on LL yet. Somehow the lines "with a perm in your hair or even a curly weave, got your New Edition, Bobby Brown button on your sleeve" don't exactly seem to fit me. Still, the song makes me smile and want to shake my booty and that's what a good theme song should do.

I've spend decades soundtracking my life. I know other people do this too. Certain songs seem so representative of a time and place that you hear them even when they aren't playing. For example, Bowie's "Rebel, Rebel" causes recollections of my freshman year of high school when I did everything in my power to get thrown out of Our Lady of Perpetual Guilt and Abstinence. And "Ask Me, Ask Me, Ask Me" by the Smiths reminds me of the following summer when a certain boy ran around telling all his friends I gave him a handjob thus making me both more slutty as well as more popular in a matter of minutes. Did I actually perform the act in question? The world may never know.

College could be soundtracked by any number of punk and ska songs. When alone, I played a ton of English Beat, Selector, and Toots and the Maytals. I was especially fond of "Mirror in the Bathroom." Parties in the small, college town seemed to feature a lot of Violent Femmes and Pixies songs. And any road trip home from school included "No Sleep Till Brooklyn."

My first year out of college is filled with various jukebox classics. This seems to be correlated to the amount of time spent in bars forcing dollars into machines while seeking out something that wouldn't make my ears bleed (please no more Frank Sinatra). The year I spent in Alaska was framed by "Anchored Down In Anchorage." There aren't too many songs about Alaska to choose from.

Desmond Dekker (after which Desmond the Dog is named) will always remind me of visiting Pete down on St. Thomas. It would be a year before we would be together again in Seattle. Some very steamy nights were spent with Dekkers sultry voice in the background. That's all the detail you get on that.

The first year I spent here would be accompanied by the songs of Built to Spill, Guided by Voices, and Deathcab for Cutie. My days are still lightened by those melodies.

But these are all songs that will make of the score of that movie someone will someday make about my life. None of them fit the here and now. None of them can be my current theme song as they don't scream "Look out! Here I come!" The song in question also needs to be happy and upbeat because that's sort of where I am at in my life yet I still want people to know I'm informed and compassionate. I've been playing with the idea of something by Talib Kweli ("The Blast" is pretty powerful). Or maybe something by the Yeah, Yeah Yeahs? And there's always Sleater-Kinney and Ryan Adams or Nada Surf.....the choice is not going to be easy and I'm welcoming suggestions. I'll also need some advice on how to get a system rigged up where this music automatically plays when I enter a room. I am diametrically opposed to carrying around a large boom box. Far too ghetto. I need something compact but with excellent sound quality. And I'd prefer it doesn't appear too amateurish.

Yeah, I have a few details to work out but once this is all set up I'm sure to be the coolest kitten in Emerald City, don't you think?

10:49 a.m. - 2003-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife