mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When Life Hands You Lemons......

Yesterday morning I arrived at work and received an e-mail from my mother wishing me a happy birthday. Later, a bouquet of flowers arrived from my parents with a Happy Birthday balloon. And then around two, came a call from my mother.

"Happy Birthday," she said.

"Gee, thanks mom but my birthday is tomorrow."

"Oh, really? I wonder why I thought it was today."

"I don't know but you did the same thing last year."

"Oh."

The conversation sort of ended there. I spent the remainder of the day feeling like Molly Ringwald in Sixteen Candles. "I can't believe my own parents forgot my birthday."

The only bright spot in all of this is that perhaps (just like in my wildest teen fantasies) I really am adopted! And maybe, just maybe, my real parents are the King of England and Tina Turner! Yeah, I'm probably their secret love child who was given up to avoid scandalizing the Royals. But much time has passed and both regret the decision now and they're looking for me and one day real soon they will find me. Here I am in Seattle, come get me! So I'm destined for royal greatness and more importantly, ridiculous wealth! What a fantastic way to start of my 29th year of life, don't you agree?

8:37 a.m. - 2003-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife