mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Italian 101

Did I tell you that I have been taking Italian lessons at the University of Washington one night a week? Yes, I'm boning up for my trip. One must be able to order several kinds of salty, cured, meats and a glass of wine while traveling abroad, right? So every Tuesday I rush from my office across town to the college campus where I bumble my way through the masculine and feminine articles and their matching nouns. Italian does not come naturally to me and I tend to launch into the slightly more familiar Espanol but I'm trying to at least get down the basics before my trip.

Last night I practiced several phrases which I hope will come in handy while traveling. Perhaps I'll share a few here in case anyone else is planning a trip to the Old Country any time soon.

Let's start with the basics:

Can I see the room? is Posso vedere la camera?

Now, I don't know if I mentioned that I was planning on doing this trip on the cheap but I am, so the following sentences may come in handy too.

"Ho un problemo con la mia camera" is "I have a problem in my room."

The kinds of problems one might have in a budget room in Italy can include:
cattivo odore or bad odor
insetti also know as bugs
topi or mice
and my favorite prositute brutta or ugly prostitutes

One of the things I am most excited about is the food. I love Italian cuisine and I must say Seattle is lacking in that area. The few restaurants that we do have charge astronomical amounts for their grub and lets face, the fare here is Americanized. I'm looking forward to indulging in the real thing. But, you know, eating out can get expensive and since I am watching my Euros, I thought the following may come in handy:
E se lavassi i piatti? or What if I wash the dishes?

There are a handful of other things which might aid the swinging singles set. "I am rich and single and horny" is "Sono ricco(a) e single e allupupato(a)." A good follow up to that line might be "Non ho malatte" or "I have no diseases."

Well, I imagine everyone is at their saturation point for learning today. I think we've covered a lot of ground. I almost feel as if I know as much as I need to to get by. Perhaps I can skip class next week and watch me some American Idol instead. What do you think?

***Please excuse that last little entry. All your kind words really helped and lets face it, I'm being overly dramatic. 29 isn't the end of the world and it gives me a good excuse to buy all kinds of facial masks at Lush this weekend to prevent the impending wrinklage. I am also wondering if it would be too drastic of me to purchase a red Corvette convertible in order to be prepared for the upcoming life crisis? Nah.....you really need to be going bald to cruise around properly in a penismobile like that.

10:38 a.m. - 2003-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife