mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Difference Between Alaska and Africa

My niece E, who is just six years old, recently wrote her first song. Actually, her mom wrote it because E can't spell all the words yet but E thought up all the lyrics by herself and then dictated them to my sister-in-law. Although I cannot remember every line, it appears that E had been watch VH1's Christmas Video Special as the songs concept is very similar to "Do They Know It's Christmas Time At All" by Band Aid. It begins something like this:

Look into their eyes
They have no food....

The song goes on and on like this for awhile. It tugs at your heartstrings and is a bit overly dramatic (the kid is only six after all) and then there's the breakdown :

They have no food in Alaska
So please feed them.

What? Alaska??!! Somehow E has confused Alaska and Africa. This had me rolling on the floor for sometime. My sister-in-law did set her straight, explaining that Alaska was part of the US and people were eating quite well there. Africa, on the other hand, is facing a severe famine. I'm not sure I would have been able to resist letting E sing a song about starving Alaskans to everyone in the neighborhood. I am cruel like that.

11:49 a.m. - 2003-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife