mrs-roboto's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Auld Langs Syne

So here it is, the end of the year. For most people it seems to be a time of resolution, a time for change. A time to look ahead and a time to reflect on the past. For me though, it's time to get busy. My 29th birthday will be celebrated on the 29th of January (mark your calendars) and then the official countdown to 3-O begins. I know it's somewhat clich� to be nervous about turning 30 and really I'm not quite panicky yet. I'm more worried about everything I am going to have to do this year to accomplish the goals I set for reaching the big three decade mark. You see, I've been keeping a list since I was in my teens entitled "What Must Be Done by January 29, 2004 To Make My Life Worthwhile." But in 1990,when I started the list, the year 2004 seemed so far away and I failed to actually conquer any of the tasks right then. After all, I had plenty of time. 1991-1995 were my college years and due to a hectic schedule and a busy social life, I am afraid I ignored the list once again. In 1996, I decided to sort of give myself a break from all the craziness of school, and lists, and agendas, and structure in general. I just barhopped around. 1996 turned into 1997 and well....where does the time go when you're staring into the bottom of a beer bottle? The list just sat unattended in New York in 1998 and 1999 while I cruised around Alaska. I got married in the year 2000 and that took up so much time that I was unable to cross any goals off yet again. 2001 disappeared in the blink of an eye and well 2002 I got a puppy and a house and stuff happened but now time is seriously running out so I plan to revisit my list and attain "Worthwhile"status.

Some of the things I will be doing in 2003 include:

  1. "Tour America with a well respected indie band. Make lead singer fall madly in love with me. Leave him for another man thus spiraling him into massive depression and eventually causing the breakup of the band. Become the Yoko of the underground scene."
    I fear this one might be complicated. When I first composed this goal at sixteen years of age, I didn't factor in that I'd ever be married. Now that I am in a committed relationship and stuff, it seems I might have to let this dream go unrealized. The lesson here kids - don't put off till tomorrow what you can easily do today.
  2. "Visit every single state in the US"
    I have yet to visit Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, or Indiana. I can see myself visiting Minnesota as several of my friends are currently residing there but I wonder if there's a way to visit the other four without ever really going there? I've heard that if you've seen one Dakota, you've basically seen the other one too. Can I visit South Dakota and effectively cross off both states?
  3. "Own a big penthouse overlooking the Pacific Ocean."
    Umm, do you think a small house in the Pacific Northwest counts? It rains here a lot and that drains into the Pacific so it's sort of like having an ocean view all the time, right?
  4. "Have really long hair."
    Hooray! At last, one I have already tackled in it's entirety. Goddamn, I feel accomplished.
  5. "Have really great and expressive eyebrows"
    I blame this one on my old roommate who had a major obsession with plucking and shaping and began me on this long and dark road of eyebrow deception. I unfortunately "over-pluck." May this year be the year I let grow what needs to grow and seek professional help when it comes to defining what I have.
  6. "Finish first novel, receive great praise from the literary community."
    Do journal entries count as a novel? No? Okay then what about the newsletter I write for my job? No? Not even if I bind them all together? Oh, well I guess I better get busy.

There are about fifteen other things on the list including learn to play drums, speak a foreign language fluently, and join the peace corps. So I guess what I am saying is that 2003 looks very busy for me and in case I don't get a chance to say it later, I wish you all a happy New Year!

3:49 p.m. - 2002-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

toastcrumbs
caterwaul
ethelalcohol
fancylady
itzie
theshivers
in-my-life
polly-esther
myra-lee
the29th
monkeybar
reddirtgirl
tornadoali
oh-sweet-pea
asteroidbelt
amishboy
drgeek
heidiann
emeraldtiger
mnvnjnsn
kayemess
tater-fay
snideblonde
arajane
mariamania
dutch-girl
kungfukitten
everoboto
demoderby
squeeky
shadowdress
thefictions
yelayna
onewetleg
allmadhere
discothekid
dykewife